Update #1 on “Stepping back”

Edit to add this set of links to the posts in the series


That was an interesting 24 hours or so.

First of all, if you're one of many people who boosted or commented on the original post, or left feedback appreciating any of the open source work I have done, thank you.

After the project's financial admins shutdown discussion I spent some time reassessing my concerns, making a gut-check they seemed valid. It's still a risk to bring these sorts of issues to a public forum, and I'm relieved so many of the replies and commentary I've seen elsewhere agrees that yes, this is something to be concerned about.

I said I'd collate responses to issues I'd seen raised and reply in a single post, so that's this. I'm aware it's not an ideal format, but neither is fitting each reply in to multiple 500-character posts and hoping they federate properly so everyone sees the full discussion either.

If I've missed something below please feel free to send me a DM and I'll follow up in the next update (I'm pretty certain there'll be one, if only to announce a new git repository...)


Thank you for posting this. It is indeed concerning.

Whatever you do in the future, please consider not creating your own legal entity but instead joining one of the existing (well respected) fiscal host organizations like Software Freedom Conservancy, Software in the Public Interest, etc. They can handle all of the assets, legal paperwork, liability, etc. - https://mastodon.km6g.us/@kevin/110963590931224115

Yes, that's a very important point, thanks for raising it.

To organise my thoughts about this I started framing them as pitch for a new association. The early draft is pitch.md.

There's a great deal of overlap between what I describe there and the work other organisations do, and I would prefer to work with an existing organisation than contribute to further fragmentation.

I have already contacted

After some research those seemed to be the most appropriate three, but I may have missed some, so if you, or anyone else, can recommend other organisations that would be a good fit I'd be happy to hear it.


so, to summarize, you found a payment to a contractor suspicious because you couldn't find any code from the work, and then you talked to the contractor and found the code, so your suspicions were in fact unfounded.

And also you think it's a conflict of interest for the person who does the accounting for the org to also be on the payroll for he org... like an accountant - https://social.coop/@datatitian/110964853363902591

I see several other people have already replied to you correcting the inaccurate summary in your first paragraph.

Re the second, an accountant does not generally have sole approval authority over expenses. Consider this hypothetical. A financial admin drawing significant funds from the project receives a funding proposal from someone else. Approving this proposal would reduce the amount of money available for them, so they decide to reject the proposal.

There's the conflict.


I am not certain that the first two counts are suspicious. Payment was made for work on three issues. It sounds like the person was legit, they just didn't finish the work after being paid?

The second is just silly. Project Management is a job title and job description. It is explicitly what they mean by “someone unfamiliar with your project” will recognize.

Invoices don't list specifics. There should be internal docs for that. Those docs often aren't public.

If the project (hypothetically) hired me, I'd appear on the invoice as “Policy & Regulatory Analysis”. You would NOT list the different policy issues involved on the invoice. That would be documented internally for many reasons. What the accountants need to know is “what was this money used for?”

I do not work on IT regs, so I cannot speak to specifics, but I do think that it's better to ask an attorney or accountant to look first before raising suspicions. - https://med-mastodon.com/@UncivilServant/110964976957986119

It's not “didn't finish the work”, it's “didn't do the work”. The payee may have worked on the issues in private. But if they don't push the work somewhere public, create PRs from it, link to it, etc, then it is indistinguishable from not doing the work.

As I wrote in the initial post, there was no public indication any work had been done on these issues.

In your “Policy & Regulatory Analysis” example, as an open source project, I would expect to see, at minimum, a link to the work you produced as part of that analysis. That would be “sufficient detail to make it clear what the collective is paying for”, per the OpenCollective guidelines.

I would also expect any agreements the project makes with third parties to clearly set out what the expected deliverables are.

This works even for problems where the shape of the solution is not known beforehand.

For example a bad agreement would be “Solve problem X”. After a month the payee comes back and says “Sorry, I tried lots of things, I couldn't solve it, I've got nothing to show for it, here's my invoice.”

A better agreement would be “Solve problem X. If you can't solve X, deliver detailed descriptions of the approaches you took and why they don't work, so future attempts to solve this problem can build on what you learned.”


That's a lot of book keeping and managing overhead tbh. [...]

My greatest fear of launching monetary-focused foss products is this management overhead which compared to the rest of the industry just feels so unworthy. The monetary incentives just don't add up so I can definitely see how easy it'd be to get lost here. - https://fosstodon.org/@wraptile/110965923454931957

Yes, I agree. Introducing expenses, payments, grants, etc in to a project can add a lot of overhead.

Projects should not do this unless they have the necessary people, time, and expertise to do this properly.

In other words, don't adopt processes you're not staffed to meet (a variant of a rule I described in Rules for a healthy on-call rotation as “Don't set SLOs you are not staffed to meet”).


You’re expecting the financial admins to do their work for free. If anything, you’re making yourself look bad here, and not the Open Collective. - https://eupolicy.social/@whvholst/110965996322449276

I'm definitely not expecting someone to work for free. If the only way someone can contribute to an open source project is to be paid, and the project has funds to pay them that's absolutely fine.

That does not absolve them of the responsibility to do things properly, and with accountability.


Finally, this thread:

I've said this in the past, but maybe today it's more important than it's been in a very long time to tell you.

Thank you everyone who's been supporting #Tusky over the years on open collective. You've been supporting my disabled ass through so much, and I always knew I had a little bit of money at the end of the month, even when I was the most sick. ($100 when sick, $175 when able to work)

Me and Conny worked out this agreement back sometime after I started the open collective for the project (early 2019?). I've mostly been providing support, and project managment at some points. Organizing people and texts. A lot of invisible work. . I'll always be eternally grateful for everything you've done for us and me. - https://rage.love/@maloki/110969436075202543

If this shit turns out to be a techbro devaluing the invaluable (and largely taken on by women) glue work Yet Again I will yeet my chair through my office window. - https://comicscamp.club/@nebulos/110969752596667389 (direct link broken at request of the original poster)

i mean it partially is. - https://rage.love/@maloki/110969756892267642

It really partially isn't.

I was careful in my original post not to name anyone directly, I was expecting a collective response from the Tusky project. Since Maloki has come forward in public I won't anonymise comments from her in the future. I will continue to redact the names of anyone else in the project unless they also respond separately from the project.

Having dealt with that, there's quite a lot to unpack here.

First, @maloki@rage.love is the financial admin quoted in the original post, who initially insisted the discussion be shut down, and as is apparent from these posts, also the recipient of a substantial fraction of the project's funds.

That conflict of interest should be noted.

Second, an uncharitable reading of this thread — and while I continue to assume these issues were mistakes and not a deliberate attempt to hide wrongdoing, the needle on that dial is starting to wobble — could see this as an attempt to derail this conversation away from the concerns I raised, DARVOing the discussion.

Let's not do that, please.

Third, I think a reasonable reading of “$100 when sick, $175 when able to work” is the project was paying you during months when you did no work.

That seems to be supported by invoices like #30003, “Sick-pay June-December”.

If that's a mis-read of that line I'm happy to be corrected.

If that's not a mis-read then I have a host of other questions, starting with, was the project effectively paying you a salary as an employee?

I believe you're in the UK, so even if you think you were an independent contractor, IR35 probably applies (not an accountant, but I used to run a contractor business in the UK, so I have experience with this) and this probably should have been treated as employment income.

Fourth, your comment “sometime after I started the open collective for the project” prompted me to go and look at those first invoices, at Tusky · Expenses – Open Collective

Of the eight invoices on that page. two are for Tusky project expenses (domain name, stickers), one is payment to a translator, for a total of USD 129.53. The rest (USD 960) are payments to you.

An uncharitable person could think the project did not actually need the funds, and that you started the project's OpenCollective to provide a front that would allow you to collect money hoping that it wouldn't be noticed.

A charitable person could assume that is not the case, but still agree that the optics of this are terrible, especially after you repeatedly tried to shut down any discussion of the project's invoices.

Fifth, “I've mostly been providing support, and project managment at some points. Organizing people and texts. A lot of invisible work”.

Undervaluing people's contributions is an ongoing issue, and a bit of a hot-button topic. If you're new to this I recommend Being Glue — No Idea Blog.

So let me make a couple of hopefully non-controversial statements:

  1. A quid pro quo for taking money from the project for “invisible” work is it's on you to make sure the work becomes visible.

  2. If you can't describe what you're doing for the project, how is the project going to replace you when you step down?

I know what that work looks like (I'm aware of the “invisible” / “looks like” irony), I've spent years in previous roles doing project management work, I've had the good fortune to be mentored by some truly excellent project managers, and I've worked to get people successfully promoted by ensuring that the impact of their glue work was recognised.

And I've had the opportunity to learn from some epic screw ups of my own.

So here's a short list of things you could have held yourself accountable for doing:

Not all of these things were being done by the project, but the ones that were were all being done by other people. Framing your contributions as non-specific “providing support, and project managment at some points. Organizing people and texts. A lot of invisible work.” is a very effective way for other people to get the impression that you must have been involved in these things, denying the credit to the people who were actually doing the work.

I'm not for the moment suggesting you have to do all of these things. But doing one or two of them effectively would have reduced the burden on other project contributors who weren't, it seems, being paid a salary.

I'll also highlight the distinction between being accountable for something and being responsible for something.

You may not have been the person who could be responsible for a piece of work, but you could have been the person who was accountable for a piece of work.

The concrete things I think you did in the 8 months I was involved (often after you were prompted to do them) were:

You may also have been doing some customer support from the @tusky account at some point before early 2023. It's difficult to tell because we didn't indicate who was making each post from the account. I'm confident you did very little, or none of that, from the time that I was also posting from the account, because I would have seen it.

Sixth, most of this is the project's problem. If the agreement (can we see it?) did not state what you were expected to do beyond vague “project management” then it becomes a lot more difficult for the project to say “hey, please can you do some of the things you're being paid to do”.

But recognising that issue, and working to correct it is a responsibility I would expect you to share.

And trying to shut down any discussion is still a terrible look.